The Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution is awarded by the Phi Beta Kappa Society in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association (APA). The associated Lebowitz Symposium is presented annually at a divisional meeting of the American Philosophical Association. The prize was established in 2013 by Eve Lewellis Lebowitz in honor of her late husband, Martin R. Lebowitz, to provide a significant, tangible recognition for excellence in philosophical thought. 

The Symposium program consists of a pair of lectures to be delivered at an annual APA division meeting and a Phi Beta Kappa event. The topic of the lectures should be an important philosophical issue of current interest, and the lectures should offer contrasting (not necessarily opposing) views on that topic. Honoraria for the symposiasts are funded at an adjusted rate based on the current size of the endowment. Previous winners have won as much as $25,000 each.

APA members are eligible to nominate or self-nominate.  Winners will be selected by a committee appointed jointly by The Phi Beta Kappa Society and the American Philosophical Association, and ratified by the Phi Beta Kappa Senate.

Nomination Process: 

The deadline for submitting the nomination form and materials is December 1, 2017.

All application materials should be sent electronically to Jen Horneman. A complete nomination will consist of the following: 

1. A nomination form , which should include full contact information for both speakers.

2. Two 300 word abstracts: one for each speaker, which details the proposed topic and the approach that will be taken in the symposium. 

3. A complete CV for both proposed speakers. 

4. Two letters of recommendation. Ideally, the reference will have knowledge of both proposed speakers.  Letters should address the stature of the candidates and the relevance of the selected topic.  

Please direct questions about the award or the nomination process to Jen Horneman via email or at 202-745-3287.

Previous Recipients: 

2017  Nancy Cartwright and Elliott Sober, “Is There Such a Thing as The Scientific Method?” 
2016  Ernest Sosa and Stephen Stich, "Intuition"
2015  Alvin Goldman and Jennifer Lackey, "Social Epistemology"
2014 Jonathan Schaffer and Jessica Wilson, "Grounding in Metaphysics"
2013 Anita Silvers and Eva Kittay, "Expanding Justice, Including Disability"

Love of learning is the guide of life.